Fri. Apr 23rd, 2021

SabiReviews

Your Home Of Trusted Reviews

PowerVolt Reviews [2021] Is Power Volt a Scam?

3 min read

Does the PowerVolt really reduce electricity bill? Should you get this energy saver or is it another ripoff scam? Find out here!

In case you’re thinking of ordering the energy saving device called Power Volt, we advise you not to do so yet. A lot of things don’t add up about the product and the reviews online.

With online scams springing up every day, we have taken the responsibility of reviewing products, stores, websites e.t.c in order to save you from making wrong decisions.

Power Volt Energy- Is It Worth It?

One of the reasons why this AC is the rave of the internet is because it allegedly reduces 90% of your electricity bill. Furthermore, the PowerVolt Energy saver is been sold for 50% discount. You also get to pay lower when you buy more.

However, when you dig beneath all the so called positive reviews online, you’d see that there are no genuine customer reviews of this product. The seemingly positive reviews were written by affiliate marketers who don’t care if the product actually works or not. What they are after, is their commission at the end of the day.

Searching For these Items? See Legit Sellers

This was what led us to review this product. The online store offering this cheap energy saver is orderpowervolt.com . They provide the following contact details-

It is true that this website seems legit, however what you should be worried about is if this device will actually save you energy, indeed?

Should You Be Concerned About Orderpowervolt.com?

The answer to that question is Yes. Though there are lots of positive reviews about this power saving device, they are not telling you the exact truth about the product. Below are reasons why you shouldn’t think of buying any power saving device-

Saves Little or No Energy

 When you unbox the powervolt device, you would see it is a capacitor placed across the power line. This actually might do a little bit of power factor correction, but you are not billed for reactive power at home. So it saves you nothing in money.

Furthermore, the gadget capacitor draws about 100 mA of capacitive (leading) current from the line. If you happen to have a device which draws about 100 mA of inductive (lagging) current component, this capacitor will cancel that. It won’t draw more when you need more; it won’t stop drawing current when you don’t need any correction. It probably has *just enough* effect that the statements in the ads are not complete lies, but the device is still completely useless in general.

Might Cause Fire Hazard

When I went through the video on orderpowervolt.com, the one thing I couldn’t tell from the video, and the narrator didn’t mention: Is the capacitor inside the PowerVolt actually rated for connection across the AC line? Is it a fire hazard if there is a lightning strike nearby? Capacitors connected directly to the AC line are supposed to have an “X” rating for safety, and because this capacitor is potted in epoxy, I can’t tell if it if actually safe or not.

Fake Customer Reviews

During our investigation, we realized the positive reviews online, both that of Youtube and Blogs, are all fake. This is because they were almost the same contents, copy and pasted with slight difference.

Also, the reviews on orderpowervolt.com are unverifiable. They shouldn’t prompt you to make an order.

Does PowerVolt Energy Saver Really Work?

The answer to the question is No. In fact, BBC has also addressed the issue on this article here. The truth is that energy saving devices like PowerVolt are unsafe and could cause a fire or electrocution. So what are the better ways to save energy and reduce electricity bills? check this review here to find out efficient ways to save energy in 2021.

UPDATE- In the one year this review was published, there have been opposing views on if this energy saver really works. We ask that you do due diligence when buying this product.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
28 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Duwaynne Orris
Duwaynne Orris
8 months ago

Thank you for the review. Most of the review sites I went to were obviously not reviews but a sales pitch. Your review site was the first one that actually was a review, and with a post to visit the BBC review.. If it looks to good to be true it generally is.

Robert
Robert
Reply to  Duwaynne Orris
2 months ago

I agree with your findings and as a retired EE, how can a device that is ONLY across 1/2 of your line adjust the other half? MAGIC!

Truth Will Win
Truth Will Win
Reply to  Robert
29 days ago

Exactly, Although it seems that some people have said that it’s across both lines… Has anyone taken this beast apart and actually tested it? My dad who was an EE always said make sure to test things…

I think You’re right, Just sounds like… MAGIC!
LOLOL
Better to raise the temperature of the house 1° or 2° in the summer in the same in the winter…

Geoffrey White
Geoffrey White
6 months ago

thank you for the honest truth. you just saved me 40 bucks, If it looks to good to be true,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

James Haltom
James Haltom
Reply to  Geoffrey White
6 months ago

Here’s something interesting…back in roughly 1991 I purchased a unit similar at Home Depot…it promised the same thing and it in fact cut my bill tremendously…like more than half…I plugged it in behind my side by side frig and I was amazed. I left it when I sold that house and have not been able to find another one since. I think my frig plugged into it. I would like to know if anyone else ever had one…Contact me if so.

Don
Don
Reply to  James Haltom
5 months ago

Perhaps you might try contacting Home Depot.
Someone there might look up a product they used to sell.
Good luck

Bruce Branz
Bruce Branz
Reply to  James Haltom
2 months ago

Why have not you contacted your Home Depot to get details about the fabulous electric saving device that you proved had worked ? !

Mary Baugh
Mary Baugh
Reply to  James Haltom
1 month ago

I purchased two directly from the company and our son purchased his from Amazon.

Ken
Ken
6 months ago

Thanks much. I suspected as much!

Patrick Beauregard
Patrick Beauregard
6 months ago

I purchased two of these units in June of 2020 from a company called Umbra which now seems to be out of service. To date (Oct 2020) my electric bill has remained the same with NO decrease or saving. Besides this “Power Volt” company there is one called “Instant Finest Deals” and they all offer the exact same promises. My opinion is that it is a scam. They sell their products, change company name and move on to scam some one else.

wayne lascola
wayne lascola
Reply to  Patrick Beauregard
3 months ago

i have two i bought them over a year ago
my electric bill has not changed one bit
definitely a scam

HungTu
HungTu
5 months ago

I bought three of these. Used it for all of October. We DID NOT see any saving and my wife thinks our bill was higher than usual. THESE are JUNK! One LED that’s all it is.

Douglas W. Brazell
Reply to  HungTu
12 days ago

and our law makers just let things like this go on and on. So just keep voting for the scam supporters that are in office now and things won’t get any better. Forget about Consumer protection, FTC(federal Trade Commission. They are on the take as well.

Katriana Schultz
Katriana Schultz
4 months ago

We bought the “power volt”, it didn’t even last ONE FRIGGIN DAY! First the light burned out, and the rest WELL is broken garbage. My husband called for a refund and they wanted us to pay for return postage on the junk, then pay for another device. W T F ??? We just want our money returned in good faith, don’t think it will happen ever. So any people reading this, Don’t buy this product (lack of a better word), keep your money for something MADE IN AMERICA!! This is a full blown scam , and the three “goof- ball”… Read more »

Juju Jackson
Juju Jackson
4 months ago

The SCAM starts when you order this thing! You pay for it but it never arrives!

wayne lascola
wayne lascola
3 months ago

This is a scam they do not work my bill
has never changed at all.I bought them over a year ago

Todd Marentis
Todd Marentis
3 months ago

I have only had my power volts on for 40 days- the first bill (which included 22 days after plugging them in) it saved 19% over last year’s bill on usage. I put one out by pool pump, one nearest to the breaker box-one in the laundry room-one in the kitchen and one in the master bedroom. I will post again after the next full bill comes in. Very happy so far!

Truth Will Win
Truth Will Win
Reply to  Todd Marentis
29 days ago

Please tell us what you plugged the device into… Or did you just plug it into a electrical plug/outlet?

What is it that convinces you you saved “19%”? Did you look at your bill and compare identical months head to head? Has anyone moved in or moved out of your house that might impact your bills 19%? What’s the temperature this month identical to the temperature last year for the same time.? There are a huge number of variables and I’m only beginning to scratch the surface.
RFR, MS, EMBA, PhD

Douglas LaGier
Douglas LaGier
3 months ago

Had a device that was essentially a stored capacitor potted in epoxy. Well it happened my wife heard a bang and I went into the utility room and found it smoking. I quickly shut off the electricity going to it and it did nothing to stop the flames and smoking. Realized after that it had capacitor which basically stores and retains high voltage electricity for periods of time without being connected to electrical circuit. At risk to myself breathing the poisonous fumes I blasted it with a fire extinguisher to little avail. I knocked the flames down but the smoking… Read more »

NITA
NITA
Reply to  Douglas LaGier
3 months ago

I HAD LOOKED AT AN ADVERISEMENT FOR THIS AND STARTED TO ORDER TWO. BEFORE I COULD CONTINUE READING REVIEWS, GOT A PHONE CALL FROM THE COMPANY, SAYING THEY WERE READY TO HELP ME EXPEDITE MY ORDER AND ENSURE THQT I WOULD GET IT IN 2 TO 3 DAYS, FREE SHIPPING. THING IS…I HAD NOT SUBMITTED AN ORDER. I TOLD THE LADY THAT I WAS IN THE PROCESS REQDING REVIEWS OF THEIR PRODUCT ONLINE. SHE WAS TRYING TO BE PERSISTENT BUT I BEAT HER ON THAT ONE AND SAID GOODBYE. TWO MINUTES LATER, I GET TWO PHONE CALL WHICH I IGNORED.

Edward
Edward
Reply to  Douglas LaGier
2 months ago

Your TV, computer, cellphone, etc. all have capacitors. THIS thing is a capacitor directly across both sides of your power circuit! That’s a very different thing.

BSEE (Electrical Engineering), April, 1971, University of Washington

Truth Will Win
Truth Will Win
Reply to  Douglas LaGier
29 days ago

Omg!! So sorry to hear this!! This is a case for a lawyer… They might take it up for free to get 30% of the million dollars you could sue the company for!!

Mario
Mario
2 months ago

Wow I was just about to order this I just kept seeing good reviews good reviews and usually you find one bad review but there were so many good reviews I was like wow everywhere I googled is it a scam and they all kept saying it’s not a scam. Usually the first one or the first link that you find will be a legit link and tell you if it’s a scam or not and if it’s a real scam normally the first link will say it’s a scam but I had to dig deep to find this article… Read more »

Mary Baugh
Mary Baugh
1 month ago

I have used thus product for several months now and have found that it HAS REDUCED my electricity bill considerably. I particularly noticed it during the summer months. We keep our temp on a 65 degree temp most of the time. Our electric bill has consistently been lower than bills prior to the PowerVolt. Our son ordered one and has experienced the same. I would recommend this product to anyone wanting to lower their electric bill. I am not affiliated with this company at all. We are both retired and living on a fixed income.

Truth Will Win
Truth Will Win
Reply to  Mary Baugh
29 days ago

So you want us to believe that you plug one, or more of these randomly into your circuits and it impacted your air conditioning which you set at 65°? First of all who in the heck has their air conditioner set at 65°? No one!… Except my husky… So you’re a husky and even can write in English,

Tom Blake
Tom Blake
1 month ago

As the old adage goes – if it is to good to be true —-

Stanley Chang
Stanley Chang
30 days ago

I bought two of these devices a year ago. Twice nothing is still nothing. That’s what these things saved me. The only benefit, IMO, is to the marketers of this product. I haven’t opened the plastic body to see what’s inside. I’d like an electrical engineer’s examination of the device to confirm my opinion. Measure power consumption of known devices before & after plugging in the devices. I don’t believe I would save the power it takes to illuminate the LED’s.

Kevin Boyle
25 days ago

I purchased two of the units from the company back in June 2020. I installed as suggested and so far have seen no savings what so ever. Two green L.E.D. lamps show power is on that’s about it and a cheap plastic box that i plan to open. SAVE your money on this scam.

28
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x